Announcement| Volume 24, ISSUE 4, e363, July 2014

Download started.


Gibbs Leadership Prize Announcement: Best Manuscript of 2013

        The Editorial Board of Women’s Health Issues is pleased to announce that the Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize for the best paper published in Women's Health Issues in 2013 (Volume 23) has been awarded to Cynthia A. LeardMann, MPH, Senior Epidemiologist for the Deployment Health Research Department at the Naval Health Research Center in San Diego, CA. In their manuscript, “Combat Deployment is Associated with Sexual Harassment or Sexual Assault in a Large, Female Military Cohort,” LeardMann and her colleagues examined this relationship and identified several associated risk factors for experiencing sexual assault or harassment. Her coauthors include Amanda Pietrucha, MPH; Kathryn M. Magruder, MPH, PhD; Besa Smith, MPH, PhD; Maureen Murdoch, MD, MPH; Isabel G. Jacobson, MPH; Margaret A.K. Ryan, MD, MPH; Gary Gackstetter, DVM, MPH, PhD; Tyler C. Smith, MS, PhD; and the Millennium Cohort Study Team. The manuscript was published in Women's Health Issues Volume 23, Issue 4 (July/August 2013), pages e215–e223.
        The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellence in research on women’s health care or policy. Priority is given to manuscripts that report the results of original research and that improve understanding of an important women’s health issue. Members of the staff and Editorial Board of Women’s Health Issues are not eligible. The prize includes a $1,000 award.
        The Women’s Health Issues Editorial Board also designated two excellent manuscripts in 2013 to receive “Honorable Mention" recognition:
        • “Human Papillomavirus Vaccine Coverage Among Females Aged 11 to 17 in Texas Counties: An Application of Multilevel, Small Area Estimation” by Jan M. Eberth, PhD; Md Monir Hossain, PhD; Jasmin A. Tiro, PhD; Xingyou Zhang, PhD; James B. Holt, PhD; and Sally W. Vernon, PhD. Published in Volume 23, Issue 2 (March/April), pages e131–e141.
        • “At What Cost? Payment for Abortion Care by U.S. Women” by Rachel K. Jones, PhD; Ushma D. Upadhyay, PhD, MPH; and Tracy A. Weitz, PhD, MPA. Published in Volume 23, Issue 3 (May/June), pages e173–e178.
        • Previous winners of the Gibbs Prize include:
        • Nathan L. Hale, PhD (2012)
        • Jacqueline L. Angel, PhD (2011)
        • Diana Greene Foster, PhD (2010)
        • Paula Lantz, PhD (2009)
        • Sherry Glied, PhD (2008)
        • Richard C. Lindrooth, PhD (2007)
        • Joan S. Tucker, PhD (2006)
        • JiWon R. Lee, MS, RD, MPH (2005)
        • Dawn M. Upchurch, PhD (2004)
        • Sherry L. Grace, PhD (2003)
        • Sarah Hudson Scholle, DrPH (2002)
        • Sandra K. Pope, PhD (2001)
        • Ilene Hyman, PhD (2000)
        • Usha Sambamaoorthi, PhD (1999)
        • Claire Murphy, MD (1997)
        • Barbara A. Bartman, MD, MPH (1996)
        The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize was established to honor the founding President of the Board of Governors of the Jacobs Institute of Women Health. Charles E. Gibbs, MD (1923–2000) was a Fellow of the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and past chair of ACOG’s Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women, the Task Force on the Voluntary Review of Quality of Care, the Health Care Commission, and the Task Force on Maternal Health Policy. Dr. Gibbs served on the Jacobs Institute of Women Health Board of Governors from 1990–1999 and was instrumental in shaping the Institute’s mission and structure.