Gibbs Prize Announcement: Best Manuscript of 2007

        The Editorial Board of Women's Health Issues is pleased to announce that the Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize for the best paper published in Women's Health Issues in 2007 (Volume 17) has been awarded to Richard C. Lindrooth, PhD, of the Department of Health Administration and Policy, Center for Health Economic and Policy Studies, Medical University of South Carolina, in Charleston, South Carolina.
        His manuscript, “The Effect of Medicaid Family Planning Expansions on Unplanned Births,” was co-authored with Jeffrey S. McCullough, PhD, and published in Women's Health Issues, Volume 17, Issue 2 (March/April), pages 66–74.
        The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellence in research on women's health care or policy. Priority is given to manuscripts that report the results of original research and that improve understanding of an important women's health issue. Members of the Editorial Board of Women's Health Issues are not eligible. The prize includes a $1,000 award.
        There were many strong papers in 2007, and the Board felt that Dr. Lindrooth's manuscript was exceptional, particularly in its methodology and relevance to understanding an important issue in women's health. As one Board member stated and the Board agreed, “The combination of data obtained for use that represent the entire United States over a decade long period, sophisticated econometric techniques, and policy relevant conclusions suggest that this paper should be given strong consideration.” Dr. Lindrooth and Dr. McCullough are to be congratulated for their excellent contribution to women's health research.
        Previous winners of the Gibbs Prize include:
        Joan S. Tucker, PhD
        JiWon R. Lee, MS, RD, MPH
        Dawn M. Upchurch, PhD
        Barbara A. Bartman, MD, MPH
        Claire Murphy, MD
        Usha Sambamaoorthi, PhD
        Sandra K. Pope, PhD
        Sarah Hudson Scholle, DrPH
        Sherry L. Grace, PhD
        The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize was established to honor the Jacobs Institute's founding Board President for his leadership in women's health. Charles E. Gibbs, MD (1923–2000) was a Fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and past chair of ACOG's Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women, the Task Force on the Voluntary Review of Quality of Care, the Health Care Commission, and the Task Force on Maternal Health Policy. Dr. Gibbs served on the Jacobs Institute's Board of Governors from 1990–1999 and was instrumental in shaping its mission and structure.